sulabh swatchh bharat

Wednesday, 19-December-2018


Former President Her Excellency Pratibha Patil and the Art of Living Guru Sri Sri Ravi Shankar felicitate the founder of Sulabh, a leading sanitation and social reform movement

Dr. Bindeshwar Pathak, was conferred today, April 19, the prestigious Vishwa Hindi Sahitya Parishad Award, the ‘Vishwa Vageshwari Samman 2017’. This includes a citation, customary copper plaque and a shawl. The award came in a grand event graced by former President Pratibha Devi Singh Patil and Art of Living Guru Sri Sri Ravi Shankar besides a galaxy of other distinguished personalities. Former Governor Hon’ble DY Patel presided over the gathering of prominent people, including Girish Bapat, Parliamentary Affairs Minister, Government of Maharashtra, Mukta Tilak, Mayor of Pune and Vinod Shukl, Director Shri Dindayal Smriti Sansthan.Dr. Pathak has been endowed with the award for his lifetime work as an eminent social activist, pioneering the sanitation and social reform movement, which now transcends the country’s borders. An organisation of repute, Vishwa Hindi Parishad, is active in the promotion of Hindi language, literature, journalism, Indian art, heritage and culture worldwide. The organisation recognises and awards notable work and contributions of personages in the various fields of human endeavour.

Speaking on the occasion, President of the organisation Hon’ble Sh Ashish Kandhve said that the organisation is honoured to felicitate a social activist of the stature of Dr. Pathak. He said through the platform of Sulabh Dr. Pathak has been inspiring people to ‘Be Clean, Be Healthy’ for the past five decades through relentless efforts in the field of sanitation covering individual homes and public spaces.He said millions of manual women scavengers of night soil could find liberation from their inhuman occupation that dates back to millennia. Sulabh has been instrumental in introducing in-house making of sanitary napkins and disseminating awareness about menstrual hygiene among girl students. He wished Dr. Pathak the country and the world’s highest honours like Bharat Ratna and Nobel Prize, respectively.

Other recipients of the ‘Vishwa Vageshwari Samman 2017’ Vishwa Hindi Sahitya Parishad accorded include Retd. Justice Gyan Sudha Mishra for Judiciary, Dr. Kantilal Hastimal Sancheti for Medicine, Dr. Rama Pandey for Art, Dr. Harish Naval, Dr. Aruna Dhere and Sh. Tejendra Sharma for Literature, Sh Hukum Singh Meena for Administration, Sanjay Bhardwaj for Bhasha Rangkarm, Sachin Gupta and Jaishree Periwal for Education, Om Prakash Gattani for Cultural Legacy, Pandit Mukesh Bhardwaj for Astrology and Human Welfare, Sushil Verma and Sh Surendra Singh for Social Work.

The event was mainly organised by Govind Pareekh.